Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:08 p.m. - 2005-11-19
Peanut Shell
I was SO naughty today.

Did a little holiday shopping, and a little Jodi shopping, too.

But really! I need the pants and boots for work!!!!

Or so I justify to myself. ;-)

I was starting to feel better about Java when two strange, unexpected things happened.

First, and I thought this was very nice, actually: the vet's office sent a small bouquet of flowers with a little gold Angel Kitten pin attached, a week after we had her put to sleep. I thought that was such a nice, compassionate thing. It almost made me start crying again.

Second: I had a dream about her that night. She had come back to us as a ghost cat. She looked healthy and full-bodied again, and her fur smelled wonderful, but she couldn't meow.

"Java! You can't stay here anymore! You're a ghost cat! You have to move on," I said.

"Oh, hush! She can stay if she wants," Husband said, and began stroking her fur.

Strange, strange.

Work is REALLY suckin' right now. Plus, we're supposed to start having workmen in our house next week, although they didn't call back and confirm the date/time like they said they would, which just makes me more aggravated and nervous.

Why does crap all come at once? I mean, seriously! Java kitty! Work being AWFUL with some really tight deadlines and a ton of shitwork to be done. The holidays. Workmen in our house. Snow.

Grrrrr. . . .

Maybe I just needed that little bit of retail therapy today.

Husband and I went out last night and had a very nice time. We ran into several old friends we hadn't seen in awhile. Gosh! It felt like we had friends again, which is something we don't always feel. People actually wanted to talk to us, which was so nice!

I did something different this year that I am kind of excited about. I signed up to swap gifts with some random person I've never met who also posts on www.naturallycurly.com. I went and bought her gift today. She lives all the way in Hawaii, and I had only a sketchy idea of her likes/dislikes and her personality. Hope I did okay picking out her gift. And I'll be getting a gift from someone I don't know, which is also fun and exciting.

So, there you have my last week in a nutshell. The shell of a very boring, every day nut like a peanut. Not the shell of some exotic, tough-to-crack nut like a Brazil Nut or Hazel Nut. Sorry! It's the best I can do.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!